Tell me, said the old woman, tell me about this hand.

I thought that was your job, said I.

Said the old woman, I have no job, I have a means to an end. You tell me about this hand.

OK. Well, it’s my right hand.

So it is, girlie. What’s that to me but my left? I’m no mirror. Tell me about this hand.

This hand is my dominant hand. I shoot with it. I eat with it.  I write with it. I –

AH! So you dance with it?

Ummmm said I… Where’s this all going? I can’t dance with my hand. I came to get my fortune told.

HAHAHAHAHAHH. Fortune isn’t in your hand. It’s HERE.

Ow! That was my forehead.

No. It was your third eye and I poked you in it. Wake up. Now tell me about this hand.

Hey, let go!

Why? I thought you wanted your future read?

My future, yes, ok, go ahead.

Alright then. You have five fingers on this hand. I see two more in your future.

Two more fingers? I don’t understand.

Of course you don’t. Hands.

Two more hands…..Oh I get it. So I’ll get help then?

You may, but maybe not. It all depends.

On what?

On you.

HA. That’s no fortune. That’s not even the future.

Oh yes indeed it is. Maybe. Maybe not. It’s best not to choose.

Not choosing is itself a choice.

And that is your future. Good bye. May the force be with you. 


Leave a comment